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Saga Rulebook
 Clarifications

The Basics
RE-ROLLS

A player can only re-roll his own dice, never those of an opponent. 
So, any ability that allows you to re-roll dice means that you can 
re-roll your own dice, never force the opponent to re-roll any of 
his own dice. An ability that forces an opponent to re-roll dice 
would explicitly state that. 

WIDTH OF THE MEASURING STICKS

When the width of the measuring sticks is important (as it can 
be the case with some Saga abilities), the width is considered as 
being 1’’ wide (2,5cm). 

REMINDER ON DISTANCES (PAGE 8)  News
It is important to note that in Saga when a sentence says “a 
unit must be within X” or “a unit must be at X ”, it is X or less. For 
example, when a unit must be within L of a terrain zone, it can be 
anywhere as long as it is at L or less of that zone. This applies to 
all distances from Saga. Being “within X” means “at X or less than 
X”. And “within” is inclusive, so being exactly at “X” qualifies at 
“being at X”. 

For a unit to be at or within “X” it is sufficient that only one of 
its figurines is at “X” or less than “X”. The only exception to this 
is during deployments. If a unit is to be deployed “within X” it is 
understood that it must be fully deployed “within X” (i.e. with all 
its figures fully within X or less). 

ROLLING SAGA DICE (PAGE 11)  News
Some Saga abilities or special rules allow you to take available 
Saga dice, roll them and add them to your inactive dice. 

If the game effect or rule determines the exact number of dice to 
roll, take that number EXACTLY of dice. The game effect or rule 
will not be resolved if you do not have enough available dice at 
that time. 

If the game effect or rule says “take up to” any number of Saga 
dice, you can take as many dice as you want, up to what the game 
effect allows. 

Movement and charges
MOVING FIGURINES

During a movement (charge, movement or other) a model is 
considered as occupying at any time the entire surface of its base. 
Therefore, it will not be able to pass over an impassable element if part 
of its movement causes its base to overlap an impassable element. 

If it becomes necessary to imagine this corridor, draw an 
imaginary line between each corner of the base of the model, 
between its starting position and its finishing position. Any area 
between the two furthest lines is considered to be occupied 
by the figure during its movement or charge. If any impassable 
terrain (as enemy figures or another friendly unit) stands in the 
way, that movement or charge is impossible. 

During the movement or charge, the figure should freely pivot or 
change its facing (in the case of models with rectangular or oval 
bases) but the corridor of movement (or charge) depends of the 
position and orientation at the start of the movement or charge.  

It is the player’s responsibility to ensure that the unit’s cohesion 
is respected at the end of movement or charge. If the movement 
or charge has started and it appears that cohesion cannot be 
respected, the figures return to their initial position, and the 
movement or charge is cancelled. Players should ensure that 
the final position of the unit is legal before all figures have been 
moved. This can generally be checked after the first miniature 
has been moved. 

MOVEMENT OF MORE THAN L

If a unit has increased movement beyond L, for example L+S, the 
rules governing movement are the same as for two rulers. Thus, 
a unit using two rulers of M and one of C will be able to bend its 
movement twice: once between each ruler. 

DECLARATION OF THE TARGET OF A CHARGE

The target must be declared at the time the unit is activated. 
“activate this unit to charge this unit”. This happens when the 
game effect that activates the unit is triggered (e.g. when the 
Saga dice are spent, or the use of the We Obey rule is announced). 

Activation/Reaction
CHARGES AND ACTIVATION/REACTION

If triggering an Activation/Reaction ability interposes a unit 
between the charging unit and its target, the activated unit may 
no longer reach its target. 

In this case, the charge is either simply cancelled or the charging 
unit can decide to charge the interposing unit as if it was the 
target of the original charge.  

JAVELINS AND ACTIVATION/REACTION

When an opponent triggers an Activation/Reaction ability in 
reaction to a movement, that reaction is immediately resolved. 
This happens before the free shooting activation from javelins. 
Once the reaction is resolved, the game sequence continues, 
with the resolution of the shooting. 
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Rest
REST (PAGE 31)  News
Some game effects or saga ability allow a unit to remove 2 or more 
fatigues instead of one during a Rest. It is important to note that 
these abilities are resolved even if the unit has only one (or even zero) 
fatigue. Thus, an ability that says “Activate all your units for rest, they 
each remove 2 fatigues during this activation” may be resolved even 
if some units have only one fatigue and some others none. 

The same rule applies to a play effect that would remove fatigue 
(out of a Rest activation). Thus, it would resolve itself even if it is not 
possible to remove all the fatigue indicated by the effect. 

Melee
CLOSE RANKS

By default, any unit without special equipment or rules that 
prevent it from closing ranks can choose this option. It is not 
necessary to consider the action of reducing the number of 
attack dice to gain a defence benefit (the hard cover) too literally,

it can be a defensive posture, or an attitude that promotes 
preservation at the expense of aggression. So even animals can 
close ranks!

MELEE (PAGE 27) News
The maximum dice threshold that a unit can roll in step 4 of the 
melee is twice the number of dice it had at the end of step 2. This 
is important, especially for units that have Closed Ranks. Thus, 
a unit of 12 Warriors who have closed ranks (and do not benefit 
from bonus attack dice), carry forward 6 dice into Step 3 of the 
melee, therefore may not roll more than 12 attack dice during 
step 4.

Shooting
LINE OF SIGHT

The line of sight is blocked when crossing the second time the 
edge of a single area terrain. So your line of sight can cross the 
edge of the area you’re into, and cross another edge (like a wood 
were the target is located). 

COMBAT POOL

At the end of the step 1 of the Shooting, you may have up to 8 
Attack Dice in your pool. During step 2, you can gain extra attack 
dice, but at before rolling them during step 3, you must ensure 
that you do not have more than twice the number you had at 
the end of step 1. The same applies to melee, except that the 
threshold at the end of step 1 is 16 dice rather than 8.Resolving 
a shooting

Any fire that resolves without activating a unit is covered by the 
3rd paragraph of the first column on page 22 (“Note that Saga 
abilities...”). 

Such shots do not require a line of sight to the target, and have no 
range restrictions. Since no units are activated, when the combat 
pool is assembled, only the bonus attack dice of the effect that 
generated the fire are added to the combat pool. 

Special rules
COMPOSITE BOWS

The composite bow allows free activation for a shot that does 
not generate fatigue. This activation is independent of any other 
activation, and the only constraint is that during a given turn, the 
unit may not activate consecutively for two shots. 

Note that the rule that prohibits two consecutive shooting 
activations includes all types of shooting activation, regardless 
of their origin: Saga ability, free or other activations. 

A unit equipped with composite bows can NEVER resolve two 
consecutive shooting activations during the same turn.  

Activations cancelled for any reason do not count as resolved 
activations. 

BODYGUARDS 

The use of this rule cannot create a “chain reaction”. A unit that 
incurs a loss may cancel it out by removing a friendly Hearthguard 
figure. For the loss to be effectively cancelled, a figure must be 
removed from the friendly unit. Therefore, even if the latter had the 
“Resistance” rule, it could not use it to cancel the transferred loss. 

In other words, the withdrawal of a loss is a is not a qualifying 
condition for the use of “Resistance”.

WE OBEY

The Warlord cannot activate himself with this rule. It should be 
able to activate any other unit. 

MERCENARIES

It would be wrong to believe that mercenaries cannot benefit from 
advanced Saga capabilities. The usage limitations of these advanced 
capabilities are those set out on page 47 of the rule book. 

Thus, for example, if one of your abilities indicated “All your 
units have armor increased by 1 until the end of the turn”, your 
Mercenaries units would see their armor increased since this 
effect is not limited by the points indicated on page 47. 

Similarly, even if mercenaries cannot be activated by an advanced 
Saga ability, they may benefit from a ability with the keyword 
“Activation” for its effects that would not be an activation of the 
unit (such as removing fatigue, or increasing armor as above). 

DANGEROUS TERRAIN

Note that dangerous terrain does not count as uneven terrain for 
Saga abilities. It has the same effect on movement and charges 
distance, but only terrain with the “uneven” classification in the 
terrain table on page 48 counts as such. 
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Saga Abilities
MULTIPLE EFFECTS

Sometimes a Saga ability has two distinct effects. The formulations 
that link the two components and makes one depending from the 
other are “for”, “then”, “next” or “to” such as “Remove fatigue from 
target to gain 3 attack dice” or “Remove fatigue from target. Then, 
gain 3 attack dice”. In both cases, the second effect (gaining the 
attack dice) depends on the resolution of the first. If the capability 
said “Remove fatigue from your unit. Gain 3 attack dice”, the 
two elements are independent, and the gain of attack dice is not 
conditioned by the removal of fatigue. It is therefore possible to 
win these dice and not remove any fatigue. 

When an ability has multiple effects, you must trigger them in the 
order of appearance in the text of the ability. 

ADVANCED SAGA ABILITIES

An advanced Saga ability cannot be activated twice in the same 
turn, nor triggered twice in the same turn. 

By extension, it is forbidden to activate an ability that was previously 
activated this turn or triggered during the turn. So, if you start 
your turn with dice on an advanced ability (that remained from a 
previous turn), and you trigger that ability, you cannot reactivate it 
in the same turn (i.e. you cannot place dice on that ability this turn). 

ACTIVATION POOL

To benefit from the effects of this ability, you must have 2 
available Saga dice. Note, however, that the die used to trigger 
that ability is made available before resolving the effects of that 
ability. Therefore, it is enough to have a Saga die available before 
the resolution of the capacity to benefit from it. 

As a general rule, if an ability indicates a fixed number “activate 4 
units”, you must have that number of units to activate. Abilities 
that leave choice over effect size will indicate “up to” in their text. 

MULTIPLE ACTIVATIONS (PAGE 41)  News
Sometimes, a multiple activation ability indicates that you 
will need to activate X units (instead of saying “up to X units” or 
something similar). The resolution of this ability is only possible if 
you activate EXACTLY this number of units. If you cannot activate 
the specified number of units, you cannot resolve the ability. 

When a multiple activation activates “all units” (of a certain type 
or more generally “all your units”), it only affects your units on the 
game table at the time of activation. Eliminated or off-table units 
are ignored and do not prevent the resolution of the ability. 

Clash of Champions 
DEPLOYMENT  News
For deployment methods A and C, units must be entirely deployed 
within L from their table edge (i.e. all models in the unit must be 
entirely within L or less from that table edge). 

FIRST PLAYER

The limit on the number of dice the first player is allowed to roll 
is a limit. So the first cannot roll more than 3 Saga dice during 
his entire first turn. It means that if the first player’s warband 
generates at least 3 Saga dice, he won’t be able to gain any 
available Saga dice. Basically, that player must play its first turn 
with 3 dice and not 8. 

SLAUGHTER POINTS

Note that the Warlord, as well as any unit composed of a single 
figure, earns 1 extra slaughter point when eliminated. Therefore, 
by default, a Warlord earns 5 points to his opponent if he is 
eliminated. 

DEPLOYMENT METHOD C

The restriction to deploying more than M from a friendly unit 
does not apply to Heroes. Heroes can deploy within M of any 
other friendly unit (including another Hero) when using this 
deployment method. 

 Correction

JAVELINS

Replace the two bullets of the javelins rules with: 

  During the resolution of a melee, they get a +1 to their attack 
dice if they charged and the enemy unit did not close ranks. 

  Once per turn, after a movement activation resolved during 
their controller’s turn, they can (if they want to) have a free 
shooting activation, which generates no fatigue (see Free 
activations p. 14 and Activations which do not generate 
fatigue p.30). A unit armed with javelins can also be activated 
normally to shoot. 

Note: These changes are introduced to better represent the role we 
envision for the javelins. By restricting the +1 attack bonus to charges 
against enemies that did not close ranks, we highlight the tactic 
of javelins thrown at the enemy during the charge, which is easily 
countered by forming a shieldwall. The second change limits the free 
shooting activation to the turn of the controller of the javelinmen and 
only once per turn. This fixes some timing issues that the shootings 
during an opponent’s turn created, and helps to define the javelins as 
a harassment weapon, not a “pure” shooting weapon as the bows or 
composite bows. 
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SHOOTING (PAGE 23)  News
Replace the 4th paragraph in the left-hand column with:

Once this is done, add any bonus attack dice granted by any 
applicable Saga ability or special rule. If this shooting is done by 
an on-table unit, the number of bonus attack dice cannot exceed 
the number of dice generated by your unit. If the shooting is the 
result of a special rule or Saga ability, without any shooting unit 
being involved, add all bonus attack dice to the pool, even if it 
exceeds the number of dice in your pool.  

Special rules or Saga abilities can also give bonus defense dice. 
This is also when the player takes any such dice and keeps them 
in front of them. 

MELEE (PAGE 26)  News
Replace the last paragraph in the right-hand column with:

Once this is done, add any bonus attack dice granted by any 
applicable Saga ability or special rule. This number of bonus 
attack dice cannot exceed the number of dice generated by your 
unit (in other words, the bonus attack dice can at most double the 
unit’s number of attack dice). 

Special rules or Saga abilities can also give bonus defense dice. 
This is also when the player takes these dice and keeps them in 
front of him. 

Note : these changes are quite easy to remember. When fighting in melee 
or shooting, you start by taking your attack dice pool. Then you add your 
bonus attack dice, that cannot more than double the previous pool. Then 
you discard to keep only 8 dice (shooting) or 16 (melee). 

HEROIC UNIT (PAGE 36)  News
Replace 7th paragraph with:

A heroic unit is considered to be a unit of the class of figures 
that accompany the Hero, whether for special rules, activations 
and advanced saga abilities (it cannot trigger Saga abilities 
with the “Hero” or “Warlord ” restriction, for example, unless it 
is composed entirely of Hero models). For victory points, each 
figure in the unit earns victory points according to its own class 
and the unit as a whole counts as a unit in the class of figures that 
accompany the Hero. 

A heroic unit does not benefit from a game effect that would 
only benefit the unit’s Hero except for the exceptions mentioned 
above (Determination, Resistance, We Obey and Pride). 

Thanks to all the contributors of the Saga Facebook page, and to our 
faithful friends and companions: The English Champions (Tracy, Andy 
and Mark), The Grenoble Team (Greg, Julie, Fabien, Andrew and Manu), 
the Crusaders (Olivier and Philippe) and , John, the one and only Keeper 
of the Flame. 


