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Use this card at the start of the game 
before rolling the die to decide  

who will be the first player.

Roll two dice and use the result  
of your choice to choose the first player. 

If both players have this Ruse,  
they cancel each other’s effects.

AUDACITYAUDACITY
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Use this card once both warbands  
have completely finished deploying,  
but before the start of the first turn.

Redeploy up to two of your units  
within your deployment area.

REFUSED FLANKREFUSED FLANK
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Use this card at the start  
of your first turn.

Roll one more Saga die than  
you would normally roll. 

This bonus ignores scenario  
restrictions and special rules.

PREPARATIONPREPARATION
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Use this card after the terrain  
has been set up,  

but before the first unit is deployed.

Move a piece of terrain that hasn’t  
already been moved up to SS.  
This cannot move it within SS  
of any other terrain pieces.

RECONNAISSANCERECONNAISSANCE
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Use this card once deployment is finished.

Choose one of your units  
with 6 figures or less and remove  

it from the table. 

During your first turn,  
this unit can enter play using  
a free movement activation,  

measured from any point on either table 
edge that hasn’t been assigned to a player.

ENVELOPMENTENVELOPMENT
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Use this card after the terrain  
has been set up but before  

the first unit is deployed. 

Place a small area of low uneven  
terrain offering light cover. 

 It must be outside  the enemy  
deployment area and more than SS  

from any other piece of terrain.

KNOWLEDGE KNOWLEDGE 
OF THE LANDOF THE LAND
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Use this card at the start of your first turn.

Choose up to two friendly units.  
Their first activation of the turn is free.

CHANGE OF CHANGE OF 
FORMATIONFORMATION
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Use this Ruse after deployment.

Your opponent rolls one less Saga die 
 than they generate at the start  
of their first turn of the game,  

and they cannot roll additional Saga dice 
during their first Orders phase  

of the game.

DECEITDECEIT
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At the start of your turn,  
before generating your Saga dice,  
your Warlord can take a fatigue -  

if they are not exhausted -  
to choose a friendly unit within MM. 

This unit can be activated for free  
for a move or a rest.

CHARISMATIC CHARISMATIC 
GENERALGENERAL
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Hearthguards only

If this unit is within SS of your Warlord  
at the start of your Activation phase,  

they can remove one of their fatigues. 

This does not count as a rest activation.

FAITHFULFAITHFUL
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Can be assigned to a  
unit of Mercenaries.

If this unit is within VSVS  
of your Warlord at the start of 

your Activation phase, it gains the 
Determination special rule.

LOYALLOYAL
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Cannot be assigned to a unit of Levies

When this unit eliminates an  
enemy unit during a melee,  

remove one fatigue from  
every other friendly unit that  

is within MM at the end of the melee.

PARAGONPARAGON
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This unit suffers no fatigue  
when friendly units are eliminated.

STOICSTOIC
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When this unit fights in melee,  
it can re-roll a single defence die.

TRAININGTRAINING
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Infantry only

If the number of other friendly figures 
within SS exceeds the number of figures  

in this unit, this unit counts as being 
 in solid cover during those melees  

in which they are the defender.

BROTHERS BROTHERS 
IN ARMSIN ARMS
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Warriors or Levies only

When this unit wins a melee  
as the attacker and has suffered  

less than 3 casualties,  
it takes no fatigue in step 7  

but cannot be activated  
again that turn.

RAIDERSRAIDERS
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Use this card after having activated  
one of your units for a move  

(including after a manoeuvre).

This unit’s movement distance  
is increased by SS (or MM if it is mounted), 

but it cannot be within MM of an  
enemy unit at any point in its move.

FORCED MARCHFORCED MARCH
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Use this card after having activated  
one of your units for a rest.

The unit discards two fatigues  
after their rest, but cannot be  

activated again this turn.

REFORMREFORM
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Infantry only

Use this card when one of your units  
is targeted by a shooting attack,  

but before the shooting attack is resolved.

When this shooting attack is resolved,  
you can re-roll defence rolls of 1,  

or all your defence rolls if your unit  
is entirely situated within uneven terrain.

USING USING 
THE GROUNDTHE GROUND
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Use this card at the start  
of your Activation phase.

Choose an area of terrain offering light 
cover within MM of one of your units  

with at least 8 figures. 

This area catches fire and until  
the end of the game counts as  

a high area of dangerous terrain  
that no longer offers cover. 

Any unit inside the terrain piece  
at the end of the turn suffers  

a casualty and a fatigue.

FLAMING FLAMING 
PROJECTILESPROJECTILES
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Use this card during your  
Activation phase to activate  

a unit that hasn’t charged this  
turn for a move.

This activation generates no fatigue.

Once this movement ends,  
the unit cannot be activated  

again during this turn.

DELUGEDELUGE
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Use this card when your unit has  
to withdraw following a melee.

They suffer no fatigue  
after this melee.

ORDERED ORDERED 
RETREATRETREAT
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Use this card at the start of one  
of your turns, after rolling  
your available Saga dice. 

You can re-roll one of  
your inactive Saga dice.

 You can choose to inflict a fatigue  
on your Warlord in order to re-roll  

a second inactive Saga die.

OMENOMEN
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Use this card at the start of your first turn, 
before rolling your Saga dice.

Gain 3 Offering markers,  
and one additional Offering marker  
for each Saga die you could roll but  

choose not to, up to a maximum  
of 3 additional Offering markers.

During the game, you can discard  
an Offering marker to re-roll  

a single attack or defence die.

OFFERINGS OFFERINGS 
TO THE GODSTO THE GODS
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Use this card during a melee,  

after using a Saga ability  
that grants you attack dice.

Gain an additional attack die,  
or two if your unit is made  

up of Hearthguards.

ANOTHER PUSH!ANOTHER PUSH!
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Unit without ranged weapons only 
(except for Elephants)

Use this card when one of your units  
is activated for a charge.

The enemy unit cannot close ranks  
during this melee.

If your unit is mounted or an Elephant, 
your opponent generates  

two fewer attack dice,  
to a minimum of one die.

DRIVE IN DRIVE IN 
THEIR LINESTHEIR LINES
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Use this card at the start  
of an enemy Activation phase.

Choose one of your units which  
no longer generates Saga dice  

and is within MM of an enemy unit.

Remove all the figures in said  
unit as casualties, then roll half  
that many Saga dice and place  

them on your Battle Board.

ULTIMATE ULTIMATE 
SACRIFICESACRIFICE
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Use this card during step 1 of a melee  
in which you are the attacker.

If your opponent has closed ranks,  
gain three attack dice.

BREAKERS BREAKERS 
OF SHIELDSOF SHIELDS
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Use this card when your opponent 
activates a Levy or Mercenary unit,  

but before the activation is resolved.

Your opponent must choose  
between inflicting a fatigue  

on their unit or cancelling its activation.  
In either case, the unit cannot  
be activated again that turn.

LOYAL ONLY LOYAL ONLY 
TO GOLDTO GOLD
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Use this card when one of your  
exhausted units is charged.

Increase their Armour by 1  
during the ensuing melee.

LAST DITCHLAST DITCH
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Use this card when your opponent uses  
a Preparation or Stratagem Ruse card.

Roll one die for each Ruse point  
that your opponent’s card cost. 

If you get at least one result of 5+,  
your opponent’s Ruse is exposed.

It counts in all respects as having  
been used, but its effect is not applied.

SPYSPY
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SLAVE SLAVE 
BODYGUARDSBODYGUARDS

Use this card before rolling your  
Warlord’s defence dice.

You gain a +2 bonus to all  
your defence rolls during this  

melee or shooting attack. 

Then give this card to your opponent. 
It counts as a Hero slain in melee when 

calculating victory points.


