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OCNCRAL COMMENTS

Ignore all references to The Crescent & The Cross and use the Saga
rulebook to look up the rules concerned.

Since certain steps in melee resolution have changed, ignore any
reference to melee steps in the supplement and use the sequence
described in the rulebook instead.

Due to changes in the new edition, the equipment table has the
wrong Armour values for certain units — particularly Warlords and
units armed with javelins. Check the Saga rulebook for changes
to the base Armour values which will give you the right Armour
values for these units.

Ignore any reference to the Side by Side rule, which no longer
exists.

Where the text refers to sacrificing figures due to the Resilience
rule, you should instead use the Bodyguards special rule from now
on.

When you come across the Endless Warband or Off-table Units
rules, use the following rule : the unit in question is placed within
V8 of an allowed table edge (or any table edge if the scenario
does not have any specific restrictions), and more than M from
any enemy units. It is placed on the table at the start of the
controlling player’s Orders phases, before they generate their
Saga dice. The unit therefore helps to generate Saga dice.

BATTLE BOARDS

Rather than fastidiously re-writing every ability on the Battle
Boards —which have barely changed since the rules were updated
—here are the general principles to apply to avoid any confusion.

Since several steps in melee resolution have been changed,
ignore any mention of melee steps in the supplements and use
the sequence described in the rulebook instead.

When a Saga ability or special rule indicates that a unit is
activated to move, it can be activated to move or charge. If
the ability or the rule explicitly forbids ending the activation in
melee, the unit can only be activated to move. If the ability or the
rule forbids shooting during the activation, that means a unit
with javelins cannot make a free shooting activation after the
movement activation.

When a Saga ability refers to a Warlord, assume it means a Hero
in terms of the new edition.

Where an ability or special rule generated supplementary attack
or defence dice, it now adds bonus attack or defence dice to the
combat pool (step 1 of shooting or step 2 of melee).

Orders or Activation abilities which gained you attack or defence
dice in step 2 of shooting or step 3 of melee now get you bonus
attack or defence dice.

ACTIUS & ARTHUR supplement update:
Age of Inoasions

The Aetius & Arthur: Age of Invasions supplement was the last to be released for the
[irst edition of Saga. It was written with one eye on the second edition, and is mostly
compatible with it. Nevertheless, due to certain changes in the revised rules, some
elements of the book require an update.

In the following pages, you will find all the necessary updates to make this supplement
compatible with the new edition of Saga.

Two abilities have been reworded : Frenzied Charge (Picts)
and Plumbatae (Romans). Below, are the replacement texts, in
stickers that you can glue on your battleboards.

Also, for the sake of consistency, all Combat Reserve are now
called “Combat Bonus“ and their keywords are Melee, Shooting
or Shooting/Reaction. This change applies to all faction of the
book, with the exception of the Saxons, who keep their Furor
basic ability as a replacement for their Combat Bonus.
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FRENZIED CHARGE

Activation
Activate a unit to charge.

During the ensuing meleg, neither unit
may close ranks or gain defence dice.
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PLUMBATAFE

Activation

Choose an enemy unitwithin S of one of your non-exhausted
foot units without ranged weapons.

Resolve a shooting attack against this unit. You get 1 bonus
attack die perfigure in your unit, and the enemy unit's
Armouris increased by 1. Reduce your Impetus by 1.

No Saga abilities may be triggered during the resolution
of this shooting attack.

BRITONS

Companions (page 34): Replace the entire text with “Two
Hearthguard figures may escort your Warlord to form a Heroic
Unit (see the Saga rulebook, p. 36)”.

Arthur Pendragon (page 38): The last sentence of the Caledfwch
special rule is replaced with “Also, Arthur has a melee Aggression
of 10”.

CQUIPMENT

War Chariot (page 56): Replace the 4% point “The Warlord may
no longer use the Side-by-Side special rule” with “The Warlord
cannot use the Bodyguards special rule”.

OLD ENEMIES, NEW CNEMIES

Salian Franks (page 58): Replace the first sentence of the faction
rules with “Use the Carolingian board from the Saga: Age of
Vikings Universe”.



Eastern Romans (page 59): Replace the first sentence of the
fFaction rules with “Use the Last Romans Battle Board from the
Saga: Age of Vikings Universe”. Hearthguards are armed with
composite bows rather than bows. Finally, if you use Belisarius,
mounted Warriors have the option to be equipped with composite
bows, not bows.

Art Clut (page 61): Replace the first sentence in the faction rules
with “Use the Welsh Battle Board from the Saga: Age of Vikings
Universe”.

Cymry (page 62): Replace the first sentence of the faction rules
with “Use the Welsh Battle Board from the Saga: Age of Vikings
Universe”. Also, add the following to Cunedda Ap Edern’s The walk
to Gwynedd special rule: “Units with javelins may not perform their
usual free shooting activation after this movement activation.”

MERCENARICS

As surprising as it might seem, the mercenaries from the Aetius &
Arthursupplement followall the rulesin the supplement, and not those
in the rulebook. They are therefore not considered to be mercenaries
in the same sense as those described in the Saga rulebook.

SCENARIOS AND CAMPAIGNS

The only supplements you need to play any of the themed
campaigns in Age of the Wolf are Aetius & Arthur: Age of Invasions
and Age of Vikings. Any other supplements mentioned are from
the previous edition of Saga.

When playing scenarios, massacre points are calculated using
the rules in the Clash of Warlords scenario (see Saga rulebook,
p. 48).

Cattle Raid (page 72): In the Thief! paragraph, add that the
Warlord and the two remaining points enter automatically at-the
start of the attacker’s fourth turn.

LIMES

Here are a few clarifications and changes to Limes, Age of
Invasions’ campaign system.

The Boast (page 76): Ignore the second requirement in the
table’s fifth entry (“Enemies killed... do not count”).

Building Frontier Works (page 77): When the buildings are
placed on the table, they count as small, high and uneven terrain
pieces which provide solid cover (like ruins — see Saga rulebook,
terrain table, p. 48).

The Raid (page 78): The terrain pieces are laid out according to
the rules for terrain deployment in the Saga rulebook’s Clash of
Warlords scenario. Additionally, all buildings on the table count
as ruins (see Saga rulebook, terrain table, p. 48).

Remember that massacre points are calculated as perthe rules in
the Clash of Warlords scenario (see Saga rulebook, p. 48).

Find the Chief (page 80): Ignore the reference to a religious
Warlord — these do not exist in the current version of Saga.

A People at Arms (page 81): replace this option’s description
with the following paragraph. “When this option is chosen, all
barbarian Warriors generate dice like Hearthguard units. Levies
generate dice like Warrior units. This special rule does not apply
to mercenaries, who generate their dice in the usual way.”

WAR BANNER

Here are the rules for War Banners to use with this Saga Universe.

One (and only one) unit of Hearthguards or Warriors in your
warband may have a War Banner. One figure in the unit must
carry a flag, banner or other distinctive element which clearly
marks them out as a banner-bearer.

The banner-bearer has an Aggression of 0 in both shooting and
melee (which means that no matter what type of model it is, it
doesn’t contribute to the combat pool either during melee or
shooting attacks).

At the start of each of its controlling player’s Activation phases, a
unit with a War Banner may remove one of its fatigues. This does
not count as a rest activation (so the unit can activate to rest
during the activation phase), and precedes all other activations
made during the phase. Once the first activation has been
resolved, or the first Activation ability triggered, it is no longer
possible to remove fatigue from a unit via the banner.

Also, when a unit with a banner is activated to rest, it can choose
to “rally around the banner”. This consists of discarding all its
fatigues instead of just one, but in this case, the unit cannot
be activated again during that Activation phase by any means
whatsoever.

You may choose to give the banner to your warband’s Warlord
instead of a unit. In this case, his Aggression is reduced to 5 in
melee and 1 during shooting attacks, but he benefits from the
rules above (removing a fatigue at the start of his Activation
phase and being able to “rally around the banner”).

Note: You can model the banner by adding a second figure to the
Warlord’s base as the banner-bearer. The presence of a second figure
in this case is purely decorative.

Neither Legendary Units nor mercenaries may have a War
Banner.

PRICST

The Priest is a mercenary who can be recruited by any Aetius &
Arthur faction.

Cost: 1 point
Size: 1 figure

The unit is made up of a Hero figure with the following
characteristics:

Saga Dice | Armour | Aggression

Equipment

Unarmed

Unarmed, Mount: Horse

Special Rules

Bodyguards, Determination, Resilience (1)

The Priest may be mounted on a horse if the warband’s Warlord
is also mounted.

© Vision
During your Orders phase, a non-exhausted priest may take one
fatigue marker to change the face of one of your inactive Saga

dice. If they do, you cannot roll any more Saga dice until the end
of the phase.

®© Inspiration

If the priest has no fatigue markers when they are activated, the
priest can take a fatigue from a friendly unit within 8 and transfer
it to themselfinstead of resolving their own activation.

® Meditation

When the priest uses a rest activation, they can discard all their
fatigue markers. In this case they may not be reactivated for th
rest of the turn. -

© Loyal

The Priest may use the advanced Saga abilities on theirwarband’s
Battle Board. They are considered a standard member of the
warband in all respects.
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