
The



 

In the Nordic sagas, the term Skræling refers to the natives of Vinland 
with whom the Vikings made contact during their eleventh century 
exploration of what is now the North American continent.

The Vikings shared these lands with the Skrælinjar (as they were called in 
Norse). Conflicts quickly broke out between the two peoples, particularly 
when Viking merchants refused to trade weapons for goods.

SKRÆLINGS TROOPS
Your Warlord is the chief of a tribe, raised to his station by his own strength 
and courage. He fights without armour and has woven a close relationship 
with the spirits of his ancestors.

The Warriors under his command are equipped with primitive weapons and 
dressed in skins. They compensate for their minimal armament with their 
savagery, and will prove to be fearsome enemies for the Norsemen.

Finally, the primitive Skræling culture is founded on hunting and gathering as 
the essential means of subsistence. These tasks fall to the youngest hunters, 
your warband’s Levies.

FACTION RULES
Your Warlord has no particular equipment options. Nevertheless, his lack 
of armour gives him an Armour value of 4 against both melee and shooting 
attacks.

Your Warriors are equipped with javelins.

Your Levies are equipped with bows.

Skrælings cannot recruit mercenaries, and have no Legendary Units.

SKRÆLINGS UNITS

Unit
Equipment 

Options
Armour 

Melee (Shooting)
Aggression 

Melee (Shooting)
Special 
Rules

Warlord - 4 (4) 8 (-) -

Warriors Javelins 3 (4) 1 (1/2) -

Levies Bow 3 (3) 1/3 (1/2) -

TOTEMS

Fac tion spe c ia l ru le
Dice Combinations

 The Skrælings have no Saga dice of their own. You 
can therefore choose which set of Saga dice to use 
with them.

The activation cost of their abilities are explained 
below.

  Any Saga die may be used to activate this 
ability, no matter what symbol it shows.

      This ability requires two dice to be 
activated. These dice must both show the same 
symbol, no matter what that symbol is. 

   This ability needs two dice to be 
activated. These dice must show different symbols, 
no matter what those symbols are.

      This ability needs three dice to be 
activated. Each of these dice must show a different 
symbol. Therefore, to activate this ability you must 
place on it all three of the symbols which make up 
your set of Saga dice.

Fac tion spe c ia l ru le 
Totems

 Several of the Skræling Battle Boards’ Saga 
abilities are Totems, indicated by the words Totem 
in the ability’s name. 

When you trigger a Totem ability, choose one of 
your units who does not  already have a Totem to 
benefit from this ability. There is no restriction on 
who can be targeted by this ability, as long as they 
are a Skræling unit in your warband.

Once the ability is triggered, indicate that the unit 
has a Totem – for example, by using the markers 
provided on the left. The Totem is active and 
continues to produce its effects until the unit is 
eliminated. No other unit can benefit from this 
Totem until its bearers have been eliminated.

Example: Fred triggers Bear Totem and chooses his 
Skræling Warlord as its target. While the Totem is 
active, his Warlord will increase his Armour by 1 and 
will benefit from Resilience (2).

This Totem will remain active as long as the Warlord 
remains alive!

You won’t have failed to notice that each Totem 
can therefore only affect a single unit in the 
Skræling warband at once. Since the Skræling 
Battle Board offers five different Totems, only five 
units in a Skræling warband can benefit from a 
Totem simultaneously (and each one will have a 
different Totem).



 

The Skrælings
as seen by Ragnar
Ragnar, what can you tell me about these 
mysterious Skrælings?

The savages who live in these lands on the 
edge of the known world are among the worst 
enemies my brothers have had to face! They seem 
to have woven a powerful bond with the spirits of their 
ancestors and with the animal spirits they invoke before 
throwing themselves into combat. Their strength, their zeal, and 
their agility are increased tenfold, transforming simple savages 
with primitive weapons into fearsome adversaries! We’ve learnt 
our lesson, and it will be many moons before we set foot in their 
lands again.

The Skrælings’ dice combinations are very odd. What can you tell 
me about them?

That’s an understatement! There are four combinations: that 
which requires a single die (no matter which symbol); that which 
requires two dice with the same symbol (no matter which symbol); 
that which requires two different symbols (once again, no matter 
which symbols as long as they are different); and finally the one 
which needs all three different symbols on a Saga die. They really 
do everything their own way!

Does the Ancestral Spirits ability let you change the face of any 
die?

Yes. By discarding a die (no matter its symbol), the Skræling can 
change the face of another die. In general, this guarantees that 
they can trigger the combinations they need.

How do Totems work?

Totems are powerful tools at the Skrælings’ disposal. They 
are relatively unique Saga abilities, since once they have been 
triggered, they have a permanent effect which does not end until 
the unit benefiting from it is eliminated. In other words, the Totem 
– once applied to a unit – becomes a sort of special rule for the 
unit concerned.

Can a unit have more than one Totem at once?

No.

How does Possession work?

Possession requires that you choose one of your 
units currently benefiting from a Totem. You therefore 

choose another Totem, and this unit gains the bonus 
granted by that Totem – but only until the end of the turn.

Can I choose a Totem that another unit already has?

Yes, you can choose a Totem already used by another unit. And 
don’t forget that the benefits of this Totem are temporary, and 
end at the end of the turn.

Does a Warlord with the Bear Totem keep his Resilience (1)?

No, it is replaced by Resilience (2) while the Totem is active.

If I trigger Tribal Tactics on a unit with javelins, can it be activated  
again to shoot ( for free and without fatigue) after the move, as 
per the javelin rules? Please say yes, Ragnar...

I’m afraid that the answer is yes. These tribal tactics cost our crew 
many brave men.

How does Agility work?

When it’s triggered, you subtract the your unit’s melee Armour 
value from the enemy’s. The resulting figure is the number of 
casualties which will be cancelled by your unit after the defence 
dice are rolled. It’s best to note down the answer, since the Armour 
values might change afterwards without changing the number 
of casualties to cancel – they are calculated at the moment the 
ability is triggered. Therefore, if you have an Armour of 3 and the 
enemy has an Armour of 5, you cancel two casualties after rolling 
your defence dice.


