
PRIESTS AND 
OTHER RULES
You will find in this file some rules available in The 
Crescent and the Cross. Of course, they are useful and totally 
compatible with factions from Saga: Dark Ages Skirmishes 
supplements or from Aetius & Arthur.

Priests

• A matter of faith

Priests and other guardians of faith played an important 
role in all medieval and ancient societies and cultures. 
They were keepers of the traditions, sometimes judges and 
lawyers, and always on the look-out for their followers’ souls. 
Their impact on the policies of the kingdoms cannot be 
underestimated. More often than not, they took part in the 
conflicts of their peers, leading men to battle and ensuring 
that their behavior was in accordance with the dogmas of 
their faith.

• �Adding a Priest to your 
warband

You can muster a Priest in your warband for the cost of one 
point. A Priest is always a single figure unit ( in a similar 
way to a Warlord). A warband may never include more 
than one Priest. The gaming stats of a Priest (his Armour, 
the number of Attack dice he generates in melee, etc.) 
depend upon his type, as described further. In addition, 
if the Warlord of your faction can be mounted, your Priest 
can also be mounted (he may choose freely which kind 
of mount if more than one is available). This is the only 
equipment option a Priest ever gets; he doesn’t have 
access to any of the Warlord’s other equipment options.

Priests are activated like Walords, and as far as battle 
boards abilities are concerned, they are Warlords (but 
they are not Warlords for other game effects, like the 
Warlord’s Pride special rule). A Saga ability that cannot 
target a Warlord won’t be able to target a Priest either. 
Like Hearthguards and Warlords, Priests are exhausted 
when they have 4 Fatigues.

A Priest is worth 4 Slaughtering victory points.

• Warlord Priests

You can also upgrade (or downgrade some would say…) 
your Warlord to a Priest. This does not cost any extra 
points, as the Priest will simply replace your Warlord.

All the characteristics of your Warlord are then replaced 
by those shown for the chosen type of Priest. If Warlords 
of your faction must take an equipment option, as a 
mount or a weapon, your Warlord Priest must take it. For 
example, if an Anglo-Danish player chooses a Warlord 
Priest to lead his troops, he must have a Dane axe. If the 

Warlord Priest must take a ranged weapon, he generates 2 
attack dice when shooting, as a normal Warlord.

Furthermore, the Warlord Priest gains the Determination 
special rule and becomes subject to the Warlord’s Pride.

• The Priest type

There are three Priest types: the Warrior Priest, the 
Religious Advisor and the Enlightened. When recruiting 
a Priest into your warband, you must decide which type 
your Priest will be.

The Priest type uses the same template for the description 
of their abilities and stats, with the following details:

Attacks: this is the number of Attack dice the Priest 
generates in melee.

Armour: the Armour of the Priest. First number is used in 
melee, the second against shooting attacks.

Saga dice: the number of Saga dice generated by the 
Priest at the start of each turn.

Special rules: the special rules that the Priest benefits 
from. Some of them are the same as the special rules for 
Warlords in the rulebook. Please refer to their description 
in the rulebook with any reference to Warlord being 
replaced by Priest.
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The Religious Advisor

The Religious Advisor was taken onto the battlefield by his 
Warlord to gain the support of his god(s). He is not here to 
fight but rather to support the men and be a witness to their 
bravery or otherwise. After the battle, he will write, or sing, 
of (and properly exaggerate) the magnificent feats of arms 
that were performed this day. He can be a skald, a monk, a 
Celtic bard (druid) or an imam and has to be depicted by an 
unarmed figure as his number of Attacks show.

Attacks: 1 Armour: 4/4 Saga dice: 1

Special rules

• Resilience.

• �Spiritual Advice: at the start of your turn, if the religious 
advisor is within S of your Warlord, the maximum number 
of Saga dice you may roll is increased by 1 but may not 
exceed a total of 8. If you choose to have a Religious 
Advisor as a Warlord, this bonus is always applied as long 
as he is alive.

• �Faith: At any point during your Orders phase, your priest 
may suffer up to 2 Fatigue markers.  He must stop if he is 
exhausted.  For each fatigue suffered in this way you may 
activate one of the following abilities:

- Roll an extra Saga die.

- �Remove 1 Fatigue from a unit within M of the Religious 
Advisor.

- Each ability may be used only once per turn.

• �Note that the Spiritual Advice and Faith abilities may only 
be used during the controlling player’s Orders phase. They 
may not be used during an out of sequence Orders phase 
created by a Saga ability, special rules or any gaming effect 
(e.g. the Scots’ ability Without Mercy).

The Warrior Priest

The Warrior Priest has taken the sword (or the axe) to defend 
his beliefs, preaching with steel rather than words. He can 
be a Christian bishop fighting with a mace, a savage Norse 
Godi, a fearsome leader from a Celtic war cult or an Islamic 
Quadi. Obviously, he should be represented by a properly 
armed figure displaying the signs of his faith.

Attacks: 3 Armour: 5/6 Saga dice: 1

Special rules

• Side-by-side.

• Order, we obey.

• Resilience.

• �The blade that punishes: during your Orders phase, you 
may discard any one of the Saga dice you rolled this turn to 
gain the following benefits:

- The Priest generates 3 extra Attack dice in melee.

- He immediately discards 1 Fatigue.

- �Any non-Levy unit that engages in melee alongside your 
Priest (by using his Order, we obey and Side-by-side special 
rules) generates 1 extra Attack die per every two of its 
models, rounded up as usual.

All these benefits last until the start of your next Orders phase.

• �Note that the ability The blade that punishes may only be 
used during the controlling player’s Orders phase. It may 
not be activated during an out of sequence Orders phase 
created by a Saga ability, special rule or any gaming effect 
(e.g. the Scots’ ability Without Mercy).

The Enlightened

The Enlightened is likely to live as a hermit, far away from 
the tumults of the lives of others. His life has been given 
over to his beliefs, and consists of meditation, prayers and 
introspection. Sometimes, a convincing Warlord might be 
able to persuade the Enlightened out of his hermitage, with 
the hope that such a mystic will attract the blessings of the 
god(s).

Attacks: 1 Armour: 3/5 Saga dice: 1

Special rules

• Resilience.

• �Visionary: during his Orders phase, after having rolled 
the Saga dice, but before any abilities are activated by the 
controlling player, the Enlightened may suffer any number 
of Fatigue markers, but he must stop when exhausted. 

- �For each Fatigue markers suffered by this ability, you may 
take a Saga dice and change the symbol to one of your 
choosing.

- �If you choose to change two dice to the same symbol with 
this ability, the Enlightened must suffer an extra Fatigue 
marker. For example, if a Anglo-Danish Enlightened 
Priest decided to change 2 dice to have 2   symbols, he 
would suffer 3 Fatigue markers, one for each dice and one 
for having chosen the same symbol.

- �If you use this special rule, you may not gain any extra 
Saga dice during this Orders phase.

• �Note that the ability Visionary may only be used during the 
controlling player’s Orders phase. It may not be activated 
during an out of sequence Orders phase created by a Saga 
ability, special rule or any gaming effect (e.g. the Scots’ 
ability Without Mercy).



3

Composite bows
Some units in your warband, for example Hun Warriors or 
mercenary units, can be equipped with composite bows. 
The special rules for this weapon are different from normal 
bows.

Composite bows are ranged weapons with a range of 
M. They can be used when the unit is activated for a 
Shooting, but can also be used at the beginning or the 
end of a Movement (you can choose one option, but not 
both). Immediately before or after moving, a unit equipped 
with composite bows can shoot with them. This initiates 
a shooting sequence, where the shooting unit can use 
Shooting abilities and the target can use Shooting/Reaction 
abilities.. This neither constitutes a separate activation nor 
does it generate additional Fatigue.

When the unit shoots after a Movement, any Fatigue 
generated by a Movement activation is taken before 
initiating a shooting sequence following movement. When 
the units shoots before a movement, any Fatigue generated 
by a Movement activation is taken at the end of the 
activation, after the shooting sequence and the immediate 
following movement.

Composite bows may not be used if the unit ended its 
movement engaged in melee with an enemy or exhausted. 
A unit that shot before its movement cannot engage an 
enemy in melee with the subsequent movement. If engaging 
in melee with the movement is made mandatory by other 
rules (as the unit starting within VS of an enemy unit), 
then shooting is prohibited.

War banners
When you deploy your warband, each unit of at least six 
Hearthguards or ten Warriors may upgrade one model to a 
War banner. This should be an appropriate model holding a 
banner, standard or pennon as would befit his nation or unit.

This option is available to all factions, even if it does not 
appear in the faction rules. Mercenaries and Legendary 
units may never be equipped with a banner.

A War banner model behaves like any other model in his 
unit but does not generate any Attack dice, either in melee 
or shooting. He is far too busy brandishing his banner!

A War banner can be removed as a casualty at the owning 
player’s discretion. If the War banner, due to the unit’s 
formation, is the only model that should be removed, just 
exchange its position with that of another model within 
the unit before removing the casualty. In other words, 
you’ll never have to remove a War banner model unless 
you want to.

If a unit is reduced to a single War banner model, the War 
banner is immediately removed from the game, as we 
assume that he wisely, and not at all cowardly, decides to 
carry his banner off the battlefield. A War banner model 
can never be brought back to the table once eliminated, 
even with a special rule, Saga ability or game effect. Such 
a game effect would be cancelled if it includes the War 
banner amongst its target.

Each unit with a War banner may be activated to Rally 
around the banner. This is considered as a Rest activation 
(i.e. it removes one Fatigue) but this activation may be 
resolved at any time in the turn and any number of times. 
Note that this activation is not automatic and must have 
its cost paid with a relevant Activation Saga ability or by 
any other effect that activates the unit.

After having Rallied around the banner, a unit may not be 
activated by its controlling player for a Movement or for a 
Shooting this turn. If it is activated again by its controlling 
player, that activation must be another Rally around the 
banner.

Note that a unit including a War banner can still be 
activated normally to Rest, following the standard rules.

In addition, any unit including a War banner that was 
not activated during the turn removes one Fatigue at the 
end of its owner’s Activation phase, without requiring an 
Activation to be paid for.


